Skip to main content

Catalog page

A catalog page displays a table of all existing entities created from a blueprint.
In this example we can see all of the cluster entities we created from the K8s Cluster blueprint:

Microservice blueprint page

Page creation

When a blueprint is created, a catalog page is automatically generated in the Software Catalog.
You can also manually create additional catalog pages for any existing blueprint, and customize them as you wish. Read on to see the available customization options.

To create a new catalog page, go to your Software Catalog, click the + New button in the top left corner, and select New catalog page.

Description

You can provide additional context to your developers by using the Description field when creating a catalog page.
This field supports adding links in markdown format: [link text](https://www.address.com).



The description will be displayed at the top of the page, under the page title:

Initial filters

In some cases, an entities table may be very large, resulting in long loading times. To prevent this, you can define filters that resolve when Port queries the data (rather than after querying).
To define such a filter, use the Initial filters field when creating a page:



You can define any supported rule in JSON format. Here is an example that will only display Deployments that were updated in the past month:

[
{
"property": "$updatedAt",
"operator": "between",
"value": { "preset": "lastMonth" }
}
]

Dynamic filters

You can use dynamic properties of the logged-in user when creating a catalog page.

Excluded properties

Another way to reduce loading times is to exclude undesired properties from an entities table when querying the data. When using this option, the new table will not contain columns for the excluded properties.
To do this, use the Excluded properties field when creating a page:

Customization

The entities table can be customized, which will define the users' view of the Port platform.

tip

We highly recommend using these customizations to provide a clean and accurate view of the platform for your developers.

All table customizations are available on the top bar of the table:

Table operations bar

Filter

You can filter the table by using the following menu:

Table filter menu marked

You can define any filtering operator with a suitable value.

You can filter one or more values while setting the relation between each field with a And/Or.

My Teams filter

By using the My Teams filter you will only see entities that belong to one of your teams. This means you will only see entities from teams that you are a member of.

This filter works on:

  • string properties with the format team.
  • The meta property Team.

My Teams Filter

Me filter

By using the Me filter you will only see entities that belong to the logged-in user.

This filter works on User properties.

Me Filter

Sort

You can sort the table by using the following menu:

Table sort menu marked

You can sort by one or more fields of any kind.

tip

To sort a specific column, click on the column title.

Hide

You can hide table columns by using the following menu:

Table hide menu marked

You can decide whether each field is viewable to users or not.

tip

We highly recommend hiding irrelevant data from users, to provide them with a clean work environment, relieving them from any distractions.

Group By

You can group by entities by using the following menu:

Table group by menu marked

You can group results according to any field in the table.

tip

Group by is recommended when you want to create custom views for users, such as "microservices by owners".

Just create your group by setting, add additional viewing settings if needed, and save a new page from the custom view.

Port provides a free-text search option on tables. This will search all of the entities' properties and display the entities that match the query.
If the query contains multiple words, entities that contain all of these words will be displayed, even if they are spread across different properties.

Table search bar marked

-> Explore how to control page visibility and permissions

Page operations

Pages have a set of operations that can be performed from the UI.

Default page

A default catalog page is automatically created when a new Blueprint is created. This page is directly tied to its Blueprint, meaning that if the blueprint is deleted, the default page will be deleted as well.

You can still edit or delete a default page if you'd like.

It's possible to filter, sort, group by, and use the table widget controls to change the layout of the default page.

Save a view

Every change made on a specific page, such as filtering or sorting, enables the Save this view button.
Clicking on it will save the new view for all users.

Page operations marked

note

The ability to save a view for all users is available only for the Admin role

Save a new page

Each time a change is made on a page, and the Save this view becomes enabled, you can press the small arrow on its right side to open a dropdown menu:

Save view menu button marked

After clicking the Save as a new page button, a window will pop up:

Save as a new page popup

Choose page icon

When saving a new page or editing an existing one, a set of icons is available to you:

Page Icons dropdown menu

Edit, lock or delete a page

You can edit, lock or delete a page by clicking the ... button in the top right corner:

Page menu

Editing pages

Editing a page allows you to change its name and/or icon:

Edit Page popup window

Locking pages

Locking a catalog page disables the option to hide columns or apply filters to modify the displayed data.

Locking pages gives you a way to specifically curate pages to your developers' needs. This ensures that they can't modify the views or see data that isn't relevant to them.

To learn how to lock pages, refer to page permissions.

Deleting pages

Any page (whether created automatically or manually) can be deleted by clicking the Delete page button.

Default pages

When deleting a blueprint from your portal, all pages tied to that blueprint (including the default page that was created for it) will be deleted as well.